1951 Canadian Nickel
When Built: 1964
Tourist attraction and Sudbury landmark
The Big Nickel site was originally developed and operated by local businessman Ted Szilva, whose idea it was to develop a "numismatic park" featuring large coin replicas and carnival theme attractions for children.
Science North purchased the site in January 1981 for development as a mining exhibit showcase. Underground drifts were extended and surface attractions, with the exception of the Big Nickel coin, were removed.
The nickel has twelve sides and overlooks slag heaps.
The second photo is the back of the coin.
Information Source: Science North and Canada's Gigantic! by Henri Robideau
Picture Source: Hans Boldt and Steve Robinson